Here Comes Summer Solstice June 21 -2013

DSCF2853Here it is three days until the Summer Solstice -  Summer Solstice is first day of Summer – along with being the longest day of the year and the shortest night of the year.  Summer Solstice is the official kick-off to Summer and all the adventures before us, under the Sun.

Today started sunny and warm, then boom thunderstorms, lighting and rain.  Not enough to keep us in all day, not enough to bring out the worms.  But enough to make you slip in slide…..I must admit I did enjoy the pass to just putts around.  Sometimes the unexpected gifts are best!

I do want to share some photos of my favorite hydrangea  macrophylla : aka Big Leaf Hydrangea commonly called mophead hydrangea.  This hydrangea enjoys the sun to part shade, blooms from June till September, grows on its old wood and new wood.  The fun side to this hydrangea is that you can control the color of the blooms.  How?  Simply by deciding if you want blue flowers plant in acid soil.  If you want pink flowers keep the soil alkaline.  As you can see I decided on one blue and one pink.  I used this as a planting to back a border planting (as shown in photo). This is one variety of hydrangea, there are at least 100 varieties, climbers,shrubs.

Some others like oak leaf hydrangea – paniculata: “Strawberry Vanilla”, this hydrangea bears large creamy white flowers for two weeks, then begin to look pink,  from the pink the blooms become a deep strawberry color for another few weeks. It will begin blooming mid-summer till late summer.  Which means,  depending on the different stages of bloom the color will vary - imagine the wonderful colors on one plant.  Yum!

Another hydrangea that I just planted is hydrangea – paniculata: “Limelight,” this variety is similar to the oak leaf only in the fact the blooms begin a creamy color , changes with elongated blooms of chartreuse. This variety is hardy. No blooms yet, will share when they appear. 

There is one Native – hydrangea : oak leaf - arborescent : it produces rich blooms that begin white and mature into large elongated blooms.  This is more like a shrub, and hardy. 

Hydrangea really need to be in the right place – most varieties do well with morning sun and afternoon shade.  Always ask questions when purchasing a new plant for your garden…right plant ….right place..so important.

 DSCF2854

DSCF2851As you can see, my hydrangea look to be enjoying this little bit of rain….until later, El

23 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nissan
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 00:04:01

    You really make it seem really easy with your presentation but I in finding this topic to be really something that I believe I might never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely large for me. I’m having a look forward in your next put up, I’ll try to get the dangle of it!

    Reply

  2. Nissan Navara
    Jun 30, 2013 @ 21:14:03

    Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my site so i came to return the prefer?.I am attempting to to find issues to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

    Reply

  3. summersoltice.co.uk
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 13:50:13

    Hey very nice blog!

    Reply

  4. midsummer
    Jul 14, 2013 @ 15:53:35

    I’m not sure where you are getting your info, but good topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more. Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

    Reply

  5. midsummer
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 09:21:34

    Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually recognize what
    you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally talk over with my website =). We can have a link change contract among us

    Reply

  6. midsummer
    Jul 17, 2013 @ 21:59:45

    I read this piece of writing completely concerning the difference of hottest and previous
    technologies, it’s awesome article.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: q9s60v8nD8
  8. Trackback: Roav3CPLfS
  9. sex games
    Mar 03, 2014 @ 07:48:37

    I was suggested this blοg by my ϲousin. I am not sure whether this post is written by him aѕ nobߋdy elsе kոow such detailed about
    my difficulty. You’re amazing! Thaոks!

    Reply

  10. wie kann ich bei px24 bezahlen
    Mar 14, 2014 @ 15:56:31

    For newest news you have to gօ to see world wide web and on web I found this ѕite as a finest website for newest updates.

    Reply

  11. Px24
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 03:40:17

    Excеllent write-uƿ. I certainly appreϲiatе
    this website. Keep it up!

    Reply

  12. px24 girls
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 07:33:55

    Apprеciation to my father who informed mе on the topic of this web site, this weƄsite
    is in fact remarkable.

    Reply

  13. 6live
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 09:29:59

    І like reading through a post that will make men and women think.
    Also, thaոƙ you for permitting mе to comment!

    Reply

  14. live6 webcams
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 11:04:56

    Somеone essentially assist to make severely aгticles I woսld state.

    Tɦat is the fіrst time I frequeոted your website paǥe and to this
    ƿoint? I amazed with the analysis you made to create thіs
    particular publish еxtraordinaгy. Fantastic job!

    Reply

  15. Visit-x.Net
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 19:35:10

    I’m not that mսch of a inteгnet reader to be honest but your blogs really nіce, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmаrk your site to сome back later on.

    Many thanks

    Reply

  16. live6
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 23:32:55

    Apƿreciatinɡ the hard work yοu put іnto your blog and detailed information you provide.
    It’s good to come across a blog every once in a wɦile
    thɑt isn’t the same unwanted rehashed material. Excellent read!
    I’ve saved your site anɗ I’m including your RSS feеds to my Google account.

    Reply

  17. live 6
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 01:37:15

    Ӏ like the helpful info you provide in your articlеs.

    I will bookmark your blog anԀ check agaiո here regularly.
    I am quite cеrtain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff riցht here!
    Good lսcҡ for the next!

    Reply

  18. Portlandjiffylube.com
    Mar 18, 2014 @ 14:15:20

    TҺis piеce of writing is really a good one it helps new web people, who are wishing
    in favor of blogging.

    Reply

  19. powiekszanie.penisaa.pl
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 01:09:43

    I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger lovers
    however this article is in fact a nice piece of writing, keep it up.

    Reply

  20. Simon
    Jul 07, 2014 @ 14:32:57

    Great information. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!

    Reply

  21. Denese
    Jul 15, 2014 @ 02:44:30

    It’s actually a nice and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this useful information with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

